A Sneak Peak

Sailing the Seven Sheets

I have been working on this book app for a few months now. I am super excited about how it is working out.  A friend of mine wrote the story and I am illustrating it.  This is the finished cover page.   It was Josh’s idea to use pillows for the navigation buttons.  I thought it was brilliant.

It has been an interesting thing to work on this book app.  Creating the artwork is much more complicated than simply drawing a picture and coloring it.  Every little element has to be on it’s own layer so that the programmer can animate it.  Since I draw all of my artwork by hand first, I have stacks and stacks of tracing paper with individual elements on them.  I then have to scan them all separately and fit them together again once I’ve finished adding all the color. It’s a long process, but it’s fun to see our project come to life.

I am about 1/3 of the way through illustrating the app, and I can’t wait to have the whole thing done and animated!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book App, Custom Illustrations, Entertainment

Leave a Reply

