Custom Compass

Compass

I recently finished this custom illustration for the same Fortune 500 company that I created the Suggestion Box for.  As you probably noticed in my previous post, I am a little hesitant to display the finished illustration with the name of the company still on it, but my client assured me that it was fine to do so.

This illustration was interesting to work on, because the concept is so simple, and yet extremely complicated as well.   The initial idea was based around the concept of a three-dimensional compass (like the kind that you take hiking) with the words embedded into the metal casing.  It even had a needle and tick marks around the edge of the compass, but when we stepped back for a better look, it strongly resembled a pressure meter.  So I did some brain storming and created about 8 different options for the client to look over.  Then I combined the strong points from a few options and eliminated the weaker parts of the others until I came up with the illustration you see here.

The concept is straight forward; a compass gives direction.  In business, different groups are formed to both give and get direction.  Sales, Operations, and S&OP (Sales and Operations Planning) are some of these types of groups.  According to Wikipedia, “Sales and operations planning (S&OP) is an integrated business management process through which the executive/leadership team continually achieves focus, alignment and synchronization among all functions of the organization.”

I really enjoyed working on this illustration.  It was a challenge to create something simple that could also carry a message – and I always love a challenge!

Leave a comment

Filed under Business and Technology, Custom Illustrations

Leave a Reply

