Save Those Pennies!

For a royalty free copy of this file (cdr, jpg), please CLICK HERE to visit my iStockphoto page.

When I was a young girl, my parents were kind enough to let me know exactly where I stood when it came to my college fund.  It was simple:  I didn’t have one.  If I was going to go to college (and I had already determined by that age that I WOULD go to college), then I would have to pay for it entirely by myself. 

I began to penny pinch and scrape up change whenever and wherever I could.  I would raid the washing machine after my mother did a load of laundry and pick out the pennies and nickles.  I would pick up change whenever I saw it, and I would do odd little jobs for my mother or for neighbors in order to earn a few extra cents.  I would save them in little containers in my room and when I had a dollar in change saved up, I would take them all up to the little convenience store we lived close to and trade them in for a loonie (a Canadian dollar coin).  Then I would take that back home and save it until I had enough to trade for a five dollar bill, then a ten-dollar bill, and eventually a twenty-dollar bill.  Once I had that, I asked my mother to open a bank account for me, which she did.  I deposited my twenty dollars into my bank account and started saving my pennies and nickles again until I could deposit another twenty dollars.  Before too long, I had one hundred dollars saved up before I was old enough to have a job or a real income of any sort.  I was saving for college. 

My tight-wad ways have held through for the majority of my life.  In high school, my family lived out-of-town and I had to drive myself in to school every day.  So I got a job, bought a car, and paid for my own insurance, gas, and repairs.  I was completely self-sufficient by the time I was fifteen years old.  I continued to save for college, every penny that I could spare.  After I graduated high school, I knew that I could never move to the States and afford to go to school.  Even though I had saved every single cent that I could manage, I still didn’t have enough to pay my way though even a semester at college.  So I stayed in Canada for one year after high school, worked like crazy, saved like crazy, and was finally able to make my dreams a reality.  By the summer following my final year of High School, I had enough saved up to pay for one year of college, even with the exchange rate, which was about 60% at the time. 

Good money habits start young.  When children learn to manage their own money, they learn a valuable life lesson.  Some people may say that it isn’t right for a child to be worried about how they will pay for college when they aren’t even old enough to know that Santa Claus isn’t real.  However, I know that I was able to successfully make my way through college without taking a single loan because of the good money management I learned as a youngster. 

All that being said, I absolutely LOVE this illustration.  It took me much longer than I had originally anticipated, but I thoroughly enjoyed creating it.  I had mountains of trouble with the little boy’s hand holding the coin.  I had to create it from scratch about three times before I finally got it worked out.  My favorite part of this illustration is the graph that the boy has tacked to his bedroom wall plotting his money-saving progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Business and Technology

Leave a Reply

